Home / Sports / VolleyballSNOA VOLLEYBALL

Volleyball officials must be 18 years or older and out of high school. They are required to attend scrimmages (the week prior to the season opening) for training and evaluation. They also must pass a preseason volleyball test.

In the fall, officials are assigned to high school matches throughout Southern Nevada: from Panaca, Nevada, to Needles, California. The matches cover 5A, 4A, 3A, 2A, and 1A high schools. Boys high school volleyball is played in the Spring and plays at the 5A and 4A levels.

A referee and umpire are assigned to all matches; however, all 5A and 4A Varsity matches have four officials: referee, umpire, and two line judges. For 5A and 4A matches, two officials will officiate the B match while another two officials officiate the JV match in an adjoining gym. When the B and JV matches are complete, the four officials get together and will officiate the Varsity match. Most 5A and 4A matches are played Monday through Friday, and start at 4:00 p.m. This requires all officials to be in place by 3:30 p.m. The two officials assigned to matches outside the Las Vegas Valley area receive travel pay and usually do a minimum of one JV match and one Varsity match.

Volleyball Scorekeepers: Volleyball scorekeepers will sign up for training and certification during the two weeks prior to the season beginning and will meet as necessary during the season. Scorekeepers are only assigned to 5A and 4A schools which play Monday through Friday, at 4:00 and 5:00 p.m. Normally one scorer will score a B match and the other scorer will do both the JV and the Varsity matches. Besides keeping the score book, scorekeepers manage the scoreboard and the clock. (For more information on volleyball score keeping, visit Scoring & Timing).
For more information, visit snoavb.com


(Click name for contact information and term status)
Bill Robinson (Chair)
Term Expires: 2026
Mike Laguna (Board Member)
Term Expires: 2024
Chris Argubright (Board Member)
Terms Expires: 2025
Chris Argubright (Assignor)
Mike Laguna (Instructional Chair)

Eryka Gardner (Score Keeping Info Only)


Are you interested in officiating High School and Youth Sports in the Las Vegas Valley?
Click the button below today and we will let you know how to get started!


Paul Blackard (January 11, 2024)
John Carr (January 3, 2024)
Bob Carter (December 31, 2023)
John Cortez (December 10, 2023)
Bernie Rhodes (October 28, 2023)
Steve Hanrahan (August 11, 2023)
Wendell Wells (March 13, 2023)
David Rapp (April 24, 2022)
Hugh Mosley (January 29, 2022)
Scott Teifer (June 21, 2021)
Lou Pisani (February 6, 2021)
Donald Hawkins (July 13, 2020)
Larry McFarlane (May 21, 2020)
Bill McGee (June 24, 2019)
Cris Griffith (May 19, 2019)
Mike Sanders (July 25, 2018)
Kyle Eng (July 19, 2018)
Tom Jones (July 12, 2018)
Errol Rasmussen (March 28, 2018)
Rick Massey (December 13, 2017)
Hank Aptekar (September 11, 2017)
Chuck Turner (June 9, 2017)
Barry Scholtes (December 7, 2016)
Bea Lykins (October 23, 2016)
Richard Minyard (May 29, 2016)
Chuck Edgerly (March 13, 2016)
Tom Habermas (October 4, 2015)
Fred Atiyeh (August 12, 2015)
Blaise Morgan (May, 2015)
AJ Washington (March 13, 2015)
Jim Kuntz (August 8, 2014)
Rod Poteete (July 8, 2014)
John Witkowski (June 22, 2014)
Vinnie Calogero (April 13, 2014)
George Jaekle (October 26, 2013)
Trevaz Monroe (October 22, 2013)
Ron Polak (August 24, 2013)
Curtis Reinan (July 2, 2013)
Ronnie Hives (May 8, 2013)
Bob Rind (January 13, 2013)
Joe Lomanto (May 2, 2012)
Ernie Lathon (February 27, 2012)
Markus Gallant (December 5, 2010)
Larry Conover (November 29, 2010)
Quintin Dailey (November 8, 2010)
Jim Lykins (July 25, 2010)
Vince Consul (July 1, 2010)
Hope Murphy (October 21, 2010)
John Tartan (September 25, 2009)
Terry Tait (March 17, 2009)

© 2020 - Southern Nevada Officials Association