Compensation for SNOA officials is updated annually. Below, you will find the current rates for the 2023-2024 school year.

All officials working games or events under the auspices of SNOA serve as Independent Contractors with the Association. Assignments are made by the Assignor through the use of the Arbiter for the particular sport. Assignments are earned and are not guaranteed. All officials are compensated by SNOA and disbursement is made through REFPAY. All SNOA Officials must sign up for a REFPAY account in order to be compensated for games worked within SNOA.

Any official having a discrepancy regarding his/her pay should bring the matter to the attention of their sport assignor immediately. The sport assignor will research the issue, and if an issue is found, the sport assignor will report the issue to the SNOA Treasurer. Any official going directly to the SNOA Treasurer will be referred back to the sport assignor.

High School game fees for Varsity, J.V. and Freshman (B) level games are established by the NIAA on a year to year basis (see NIAA fee schedule below). Fees for auxiliary personnel (basketball/volleyball scorers and timers, volleyball line judges, and football auxiliary personnel) are negotiated separately between SNOA and the Clark County School District (CCSD) as well as some non-CCSD schools that also use SNOA auxiliary personnel. All youth sports rates are negotiated between the organization that SNOA is supplying officials for and the SNOA Board of Control.

All Auxiliary Personnel (basketball/volleyball scorers & timers, volleyball line judges, football auxiliary) will receive $28.00 for all contests worked within SNOA. Travel pay is paid to drivers and passengers for out of town games, in accordance with established mileage tables. Latest information from NIAA shows travel is compensated at the rate of .655 cents per mile for the driver and .24 cents per mile for rider(s). The following table shows what is authorized for travel to out of town schools.

NOTE: Rates are subject to change.

Each official incurs certain charges as a member of the NIAA and SNOA. These fees are listed below on the deductions chart.


Deduction Code Explanation
NIAA Per-Sport Fee $20.00 NIAA Initial sport fee. $20.00 for each additional NIAA sport registration. Auxiliary is exempt from $20.00 NIAA sport fee
Arbiter Insurance for Officials $15.00 Official’s insurance is a one-time fee for the school year
Criminal Background Check $9.50 Background check is a one-time fee for the school year
Auxiliary Fees Paid at Registration $24.50 Total amount paid to work auxiliary position(s) for school year


  • (deducted from officials SNOA pay period)
Deduction Code Explanation
Game Fee Assessment 6% 6% of game fees (travel pay is not assessed)
Initial Registration Fee $15.00 One-time fee when first joining SNOA
Annual Dues $35.00 $35.00 for each additional sport worked
Rule Books $6.00 (each book) NFHS Rules Book & Case Book
Fines TBD Fines levied against officials


Are you interested in officiating High School and Youth Sports in the Las Vegas Valley?
Click the button below today and we will let you know how to get started!


Paul Blackard (January 11, 2024)
John Carr (January 3, 2024)
Bob Carter (December 31, 2023)
John Cortez (December 10, 2023)
Bernie Rhodes (October 28, 2023)
Steve Hanrahan (August 11, 2023)
Wendell Wells (March 13, 2023)
David Rapp (April 24, 2022)
Hugh Mosley (January 29, 2022)
Scott Teifer (June 21, 2021)
Lou Pisani (February 6, 2021)
Donald Hawkins (July 13, 2020)
Larry McFarlane (May 21, 2020)
Bill McGee (June 24, 2019)
Cris Griffith (May 19, 2019)
Mike Sanders (July 25, 2018)
Kyle Eng (July 19, 2018)
Tom Jones (July 12, 2018)
Errol Rasmussen (March 28, 2018)
Rick Massey (December 13, 2017)
Hank Aptekar (September 11, 2017)
Chuck Turner (June 9, 2017)
Barry Scholtes (December 7, 2016)
Bea Lykins (October 23, 2016)
Richard Minyard (May 29, 2016)
Chuck Edgerly (March 13, 2016)
Tom Habermas (October 4, 2015)
Fred Atiyeh (August 12, 2015)
Blaise Morgan (May, 2015)
AJ Washington (March 13, 2015)
Jim Kuntz (August 8, 2014)
Rod Poteete (July 8, 2014)
John Witkowski (June 22, 2014)
Vinnie Calogero (April 13, 2014)
George Jaekle (October 26, 2013)
Trevaz Monroe (October 22, 2013)
Ron Polak (August 24, 2013)
Curtis Reinan (July 2, 2013)
Ronnie Hives (May 8, 2013)
Bob Rind (January 13, 2013)
Joe Lomanto (May 2, 2012)
Ernie Lathon (February 27, 2012)
Markus Gallant (December 5, 2010)
Larry Conover (November 29, 2010)
Quintin Dailey (November 8, 2010)
Jim Lykins (July 25, 2010)
Vince Consul (July 1, 2010)
Hope Murphy (October 21, 2010)
John Tartan (September 25, 2009)
Terry Tait (March 17, 2009)

© 2020 - Southern Nevada Officials Association